Home > About > Our Team & Board Members

Our Caring Team of Hospice Doctors

Christopher Kerr, MD, PhD

Kerr_head_shot.jpgChief Executive Officer & Chief Medical Officer 

Dr. Kerr joined Hospice Buffalo in 1999 as the Medical Director for Hospice Buffalo’s 22-bed Inpatient Unit and served in that capacity until 2011, when he was appointed CHPC’s Chief Medical Officer.
Dr. Kerr was born and raised in Toronto, Canada and comes from a long line of physicians, of which he is now the fifth generation. He has an undergraduate degree in Psychology, a Doctorate of Medicine, a PhD in Neurobiology and completed his residency in Internal Medicine at the University of Rochester. Dr. Kerr received numerous awards throughout training that recognized his clinical performance, as well as his success as an educator and scientist.
Dr. Kerr’s background in research has evolved from bench science towards the human experience of illness as witnessed from the bedside, specifically patient’s dreams and visions at the end of life. The results of his studies generated enormous response in the non-medical community, both nationally and internationally, through coverage that has included the New York Times, Huffington Post, The Atlantic, BBC, Scientific American and Psychology Today.
“It is a privilege to lead the dedicated employees and volunteers of this organization who bring such outstanding care and compassionate support to literally hundreds of people in our community each and every day,” Kerr states. “I’m excited to build on the national reputation and outstanding standard of care that Hospice Buffalo is noted for and to explore new opportunities to extend our mission of providing the highest quality hospice and palliative care services to our community.”
Dr. Kerr has overseen the integration and expansion of palliative care into local hospitals and developed one of the nation’s largest home-based palliative care programs, Home Connections, and Essential Care for Children. He has lectured and published on innovative program models that are designed to better align patient/family services to the complexity of needs inherent to advanced illness. Learn more about Dr. Kerr

Megan O'Shea Farrell, MD

MeganFarrell_2016_Flipped_100.jpgMedical Director

Prior to joining Hospice, Dr. Farrell was the Head of Endocrinology at the John M. Loré  Jr. M.D. Head and Neck Center at Sister's Hospital. Dr. Farrell is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine, with an additional certification in endocrinology, and Board Eligible in hospice & palliative care medicine.  Learn more about Dr. Farrell

John Tangeman, MD, FACP 

tangeman.gifAdministrative Medical Director

Dr. Tangeman joined Hospice Buffalo in 2005. Prior to Hospice, Dr. Tangeman was in private practice in Internal Medicine with Buffalo Medical Group. Dr. Tangeman is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in both internal medicine and hospice & palliative care medicine. Learn more about Dr. Tangeman

Anne Banas, MD

Banas.jpgStaff Physician

Dr. Banas is a graduate of the SUNY at Buffalo School of Medicine. Dr. Banas is certified by the Harvard Medical School Department of Continuing Medical Education in Clinical Training in Mind/Body Medicine. She belongs to the American Academy of Neurology. Learn more about Dr. Banas

Christopher Jacobus, MD

Jacobus.jpgStaff Physician

Dr. Jacobus has been working with the elderly since 2004 and joined Hospice Buffalo in 2006. Known for his compassionate care for geriatric patients and their families faced with life- limiting illness, he advocates for the respect the elderly deserve until their last breath. His reach extends into nursing homes, assisted living residences, group homes and hospitals. He is regarded by the clinical community as an expert in the field and his integrity serves as the foundation for his care.  Learn more about Dr. Jacobus 

Dominic Lipome, MD

lipome.gifStaff Physician

Dr. Lipome joined Hospice Buffalo in 2008. Prior to joining Hospice, Dr. Lipome worked at Buffalo Medical Group, PC, as a hospitalist. Dr. Lipome is Board Eligible in hospice & palliative care medicine.  Learn more about Dr. Lipome 

Debra Luczkiewicz, MD

Dr_Deb_Luczkiewicz.jpgStaff Physician

Dr. Luczkiewicz joined Hospice Buffalo in 2009. She is a graduate of the SUNY at Buffalo School of Medicine, is Board Certified in both Family Medicine and Hospice & Palliative Medicine, and formerly worked as a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at UB, teaching students, residents and fellows while maintaining a private practice in Amherst, NY. Learn more about Dr. Luczkiewicz

Roslyn Romanowski, MD

romanowski.jpgStaff Physician

Dr. Romanowski joined Hospice Buffalo after a 30-year career in medicine, most recently as Attending Physician, Hematology at UBMD Internal Medicine and the Adult Medical Director at Hemophilia Center of WNY. Previously, she worked at Century Medical Associates in Hematology and Oncology. Dr. Romanowski is a graduate of the State University of New York at Buffalo’s School of Medicine. Learn more about Dr. Romanowski

Request A

Board of Directors

The Board of Trustees is an eighteen member organization which governs The Center for Hospice & Palliative Care (CHPC). CHPC affiliates include Hospice Buffalo, Home Connections (adult palliative care program), Essential Care for Children, Wilson Support Center, Palliative Care Institute, and the Hospice Foundation of WNY.


CHPC Board Members

Tracey O’Connor, MD, Chair
Nora K. McGuire, Vice Chair
Vince J. Mancuso, Finance Chair
   & Secretary
G. Richard Braen, MD
Varun Chandhok
John L. D’Angelo
Paul Duggan, CFP
Michael Edbauer, DO
Vicki Feine
Thomas J. Foels, M.D., M.M.M.
Brendan Harrington
Huron O. Hill II, DDS
Cheryl A. Klass, RN
Joyce Markiewicz
Nancy H. Nielsen, MD, PhD
John D. Reinhold
Ryan M. Zebro
Michael W. Laipple (Emeritus)
Jock Mitchell (Emeritus)
R. Buford Sears (Emeritus)

Foundation Board Members

Nora K. McGuire, Chair
Ryan M. Zebro, Vice Chair
Kevin K. Gluc, Esq., Secretary
Jennifer Dowdell
Paul Duggan, CFP
Ken Houseknecht
Linda Maggio
Vince J. Mancuso
Valerie McCauley
Catharine E. McGovern
Jane Mogavero
Marcy J. Munson
Thomas A. Muraca
Mark Notarius
Tracey O’Connor, MD, 
     CHPC Board Chair
Brendan J. Rich, Esq.
Robert J. Schreck, Esq.
John A. Wabick
David S.. Zygaj
W. Lawrence Buck (Emeritus)
Mary M. Wilson (Emeritus)

Our Leadership Team

Christopher Kerr, MD, PhD
Chief Executive Officer &
Chief Medical Officer

Joseph Bach
Chief Administrative Officer

Kelley Clem, RN, MS
VP of Clinical Education & Patient Advocacy

Megan Farrell, MD
Medical Director

Paula Farwell, RN, BSN, MHA, CHPN
VP of Community-Based Services

Patrick Flynn
President, Hospice Foundation of WNY

Susan Herold
VP of Human Resources

Maureen Lehsten
Chief Financial Officer

Roseann McAnulty
Chief Operations Officer

Samantha K. Pudlewski,  BSN, RN, CHPN
VP of Palliative Care & Admissions

Lynn Riker
Director of Clinical Marketing & Outreach

Cary Sisti, RN, ANP-BC
Chief Clinical Operations Officer

John Tangeman, MD
Administrative Medical Director

Abigail Unger, LCAT, MT-BC
Director of Expressive Therapies & Wilson Support Center

Kristie White
Finance Director